# Ras Mohammed or Tiran Island Snorkeling: Which Trip to Pick

- Page: https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/blog/ras-mohammed-or-tiran-island-snorkeling-which-to-choose
- Published: 2026-10-23
- Last updated: 2026-10-23
- Topics: sharm-el-sheikh, red-sea

Compare our Ras Mohammed and Straits of Tiran snorkeling trips from Sharm El Sheikh: day length, stops, currents, seasons, children and what is included.

> **Quick answer:** Pick Ras Mohammed if you want the shorter day: a half-day trip exists, and the park has a well-documented reef record. Pick the Straits of Tiran if you want a full day of three reef stops in open channel water, where our Tiran guide describes shifting currents at some reefs. Neither trip page asks for a certificate, and no source we opened ranks one reef above the other.

**Key facts**

- **Ras Mohammed half-day:** about 5 to 6 hours door to door (from the listed pickup and return times), three snorkel stops, park fee included
- **Ras Mohammed full day:** about 6.5 to 7.5 hours door to door (sum of the listed durations), three stops plus a White Island sandbank stop
- **Straits of Tiran full day:** about 6.5 to 7.5 hours door to door (sum of the listed times), three reef stops
- **Hotel pickup:** all three trips, from your hotel lobby in Sharm El Sheikh
- **Snorkel gear:** not included on any of the three (rental add-ons)
- **Cancellation by you:** free up to 3 days before the trip (trip pages, checked October 23, 2026)

## What is actually different between the two trips?

Ras Mohammed is a marine national park at the southern tip of the Sinai Peninsula. The Straits of Tiran are a channel at the mouth of the Gulf of Aqaba, with reefs that sit out in the passage.

On the clock the two trips are closer than the names suggest. Our trip pages list the first snorkel stop roughly an hour after sailing on both the [Ras Mohammed half-day trip](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/trips/sharm-el-sheikh-ras-mohammed-half-day-snorkeling) and the [Straits of Tiran trip](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/trips/sharm-el-sheikh-tiran-island-snorkeling); the times are approximate. The real differences are day length, where the stops are, and how much the water moves.

![Snorkelers swimming over a coral reef](https://pn1r2qcgp1mamesq.public.blob.vercel-storage.com/trip-images/Snorkelers_exploring_coral_reef_2K_20261003131511-iLbBsItwz2j3AXbjnxdilqngM7Fhy8.jpg)
*Snorkelers over a coral reef.*

## What do you get at Ras Mohammed?

The park is Egypt's oldest national park, according to [IUCN's 2018 report on its Green List certification](https://www.iucn.org/news/protected-areas/201812/ras-mohammed-national-park-egypts-underwater-paradise-among-best-protected-marine-reserves-planet). That report says its fully protected no-take zone covers more than 340 square kilometers of sea, monitored reefs show up to 90% live coral cover in places (average above 65%), and areas outside the reserve typically show 20 to 30%. It counts more than 210 coral species. The [Global Environment Facility](https://www.thegef.org/newsroom/feature-stories/good-news-egypts-oldest-national-park) repeats the coral-cover figures in 2022.

These are park-wide numbers for monitored reefs, not a promise about the three spots a boat visits on a given day. No source we opened gives the same measurement for the Tiran reefs, so the figures do not prove Ras Mohammed is the better snorkel. They show it is a well-monitored one.

On our trips, the stops are inside the park and the national park entrance fee is included. The [full-day Ras Mohammed trip](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/trips/sharm-el-sheikh-ras-mohammed-snorkeling) adds a stop at White Island, a sandbank for swimming, photos and walking on sand, and lists lunch, drinks, bathrooms and freshwater showers on board. Plan on about three hours in total for the three snorkel stops, roughly 45 minutes each; times can change with weather and sea conditions.

[Wikipedia](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ras_Muhammad_National_Park) names Shark Reef and Yolanda Reef as diving hotspots, Marsa Bareika as a small bay inlet, and a shallow mangrove-covered channel at the southern tip. Not every site suits snorkelers, so ask which reefs your trip will use. Our [Ras Mohammed National Park guide](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/blog/ras-mohammed-national-park-guide) covers the park itself in more detail.

## What do you get in the Straits of Tiran?

Our Tiran trip page lists three stops: Gordon Reef, Jackson Reef and Laguna Reef, with the sites depending on weather and sea conditions. Each stop is listed at about 40 to 50 minutes. Lunch is a buffet on board, with drinks, a bathroom and a shower.

Our [Straits of Tiran guide](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/blog/straits-of-tiran-reefs-guide) names the four reefs of the channel, from south to north Gordon, Woodhouse, Thomas and Jackson; our Tiran trip page lists Gordon, Jackson and Laguna. Because the stops can change with sea conditions, you may not visit exactly the reefs listed. Egypt's Environment Ministry safety instructions, [reported by Egypt Independent on May 10, 2025](https://egyptindependent.com/egypt-issues-strict-warnings-and-instructions-to-protect-vacationers-from-shark-attacks/), prohibit snorkeling at drift-diving sites and swimming in unfavorable weather conditions. Which reef a boat uses on the day is the captain's and guide's decision.

The name can mislead. [Wikipedia](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiran_Island) says Tiran Island's administration was transferred to Saudi Arabia in April 2016, and the stops on our page are reefs, not the island. Our [Straits of Tiran guide](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/blog/straits-of-tiran-reefs-guide) describes the reefs in the channel.

Currents are worth knowing about before you choose. Our Straits of Tiran guide describes shifting currents at the channel reefs, with Jackson and Woodhouse singled out, and the captain picks the stops on the day. Our trip pages do not give a current rating for snorkelers, so follow your guide closely and keep a life jacket on if you are not a confident swimmer.

![Snorkeler at a reef](https://pn1r2qcgp1mamesq.public.blob.vercel-storage.com/trip-images/Snorkeler_near_coral_reef_drop-off_2K_20261003131608-VJdbasD2TrbKo3uz2Y8rfESz5rStvS.jpg)
*A snorkeler near a reef.*

## How do the three trips compare side by side?

The table uses what each live trip page says as of October 23, 2026; check the page again before you book. Prices are on the trip cards further down, because they change.

|  | Ras Mohammed half-day | Ras Mohammed full day | Straits of Tiran |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Length | Half day | Full day | Full day |
| Snorkel stops | 3 in the park | 3 in the park, plus White Island | 3 reefs in the strait |
| Stop length | Not stated | About 45 minutes each (about 3 hours in total) | About 40 to 50 minutes |
| Lunch | Option with lunch on board (rice, pasta, salad, chicken) | Buffet on board | Buffet on board |
| Park or entrance fee | Park fee included | Park fee included | Entrance fees included |
| Pickup window | About 08:00 to 09:00 | Confirmed the day before | About 07:30 to 08:30 |
| Back at hotel | About 14:00 | Not stated | About 15:00 |
| Intro dive (optional) | Minimum age 10 or 11 (dive centre sets it; ask when you book) | 10 or 11 (dive centre sets it; ask when you book) | 10 or 11 (dive centre sets it; ask when you book) |

The half-day trip's intro-dive option does not include lunch on its page. On the intro-dive age: a major dive-training agency publishes 10 years as the international minimum for a first-time introductory dive, with a maximum depth of 40 feet (12 meters; see Sources). A dive centre may set a higher age, which is why our pages show 10 or 11. If your child is 10, check the age against the specific trip when you book.

The door-to-door totals in the key facts are my calculations from the listed times, not figures the pages state. The half-day trip is shorter, but not half as long.

> **Tip:** Snorkel gear is not included on any of these trips. Masks, fins and life jackets are add-ons, and each trip page recommends motion-sickness medication if you are prone to seasickness. Bring your passport or an ID copy: the Ras Mohammed pages need it for park registration and the Tiran page for the marina security check.

## Which is better for beginners, children and weak swimmers?

Both suit beginners. The pages state no minimum swimming requirement, a guide is in the water with you, and a life jacket is recommended if you are not a confident swimmer. The Tiran page says it suits a beginner or an experienced swimmer. Children aged 2 to 11 have their own price band on all three trips, and children below the intro-dive minimum age snorkel only.

For a family with young children, the practical difference is time. By the listed times, the half-day trip gets you back to the hotel about an hour earlier than the Tiran trip, which may suit young children. That is the one advantage of the half-day trip that the pages support.

Non-swimmers can join a snorkeling trip with a flotation vest. Our [guide to snorkeling safety in the Red Sea](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/blog/is-it-safe-to-snorkel-in-the-red-sea-egypt) says non-swimmers should snorkel only with a flotation vest and a guide, and that everyone should swim with the group within sight of the guide and the boat; it covers currents and sun in more depth. A snorkel-training agency also describes flotation vests as accepted practice for less confident snorkelers (see Sources). Tell the guide that you cannot swim before you enter the water.

> **Heads-up:** The intro dive is not suitable during pregnancy or for people with heart conditions, according to the Tiran and full-day Ras Mohammed pages. That medical note is written for the intro dive. If you have a health condition and plan to snorkel only, it is sensible to ask your doctor before booking either trip.

## Which months suit each, and what can cancel a trip?

The sea temperatures below are for Sharm El Sheikh as a whole; we found no separate figures for Ras Mohammed or Tiran. These monthly averages come from two compilations that differ by less than two degrees.

| Month | Sea temperature °F (°C) |
| --- | --- |
| January | 74 (23) |
| February | 72 to 73 (22 to 23) |
| March | 73 (23) |
| April | 74 (23) |
| May | 76 to 77 (25) |
| June | 79 to 80 (26 to 27) |
| July | 83 to 84 (28 to 29) |
| August | 84 to 85 (29) |
| September | 82 to 83 (28) |
| October | 82 (28) |
| November | 78 to 80 (26 to 27) |
| December | 76 to 77 (24 to 25) |

Sources: the [Sharm El Sheikh climate table on Wikipedia](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sharm_El_Sheikh) (sea figures credited to seatemperature.org and Weather Atlas) and [seatemperatu.re](https://www.seatemperatu.re/middle-east/egypt/sharm-el-sheikh/when.html) (credited to NOAA Coral Reef Watch, World Weather Online and Open-Meteo). Both are long-run averages whose exact averaging period the sources do not state, converted here to whole degrees Fahrenheit.

Our [Sharm El Sheikh guide](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/guide/sharm-el-sheikh) suggests a 3 to 5 millimeter wetsuit for diving in winter (December to February) and calls spring (March to May) the clearest diving visibility of the year, at up to 30 meters (98 feet). It does not say that either site is better in a given season. We did not find official month-by-month wind or sea-state data for Sharm, so check the forecast the week you go.

Weather can stop boats altogether. A spokesperson for the Red Sea Ports Authority announced the closure of several Red Sea and Sinai ports, including Sharm El-Sheikh, because of bad weather in [March 2018](https://www.egyptindependent.com/?p=2518992), and diving centers suspended boat trips; that was a single event, not a schedule. Our trip pages say the sites depend on weather and sea conditions. Our cancellation policy page says that if Sunny Egypt has to cancel a trip, for example for severe weather, the guest gets a full refund or a free reschedule. If you cancel yourself, the trip pages offer free cancellation up to 3 days before.

## Can you do both, and what about the Magic Lake tour?

They are separate trips on separate days. The three trip pages do not describe a combined day, so for a stay of several days, book one and keep another day free in case sea conditions move a trip.

The [Ras Mohammed and Magic Lake land tour](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/trips/sharm-ras-mohammed-magic-lake-land-tour) is a different product. It runs about 5 hours by air-conditioned vehicle, with the park gate and landmarks, the mangroves and Marsa Ghozlani, and Magic Lake, which its page describes as a shallow basin that drains and refills twice a day with the tide. The standard tour has no swimming stop, so it is not a snorkeling substitute. It suits travelers who want the park's scenery without a boat.

## How should you choose in one minute?

- **You have one day:** either full-day trip. Water time is similar on paper: the Tiran page lists three stops of about 40 to 50 minutes each, and the Ras Mohammed page lists about three hours in total for its three stops.
- **You want the shorter outing, or you travel with young children:** the Ras Mohammed half-day may suit you.
- **You want a sandbank stop as well as reef:** the full-day Ras Mohammed trip, which includes White Island.
- **You want scenery without swimming:** the Magic Lake land tour.

Our [Red Sea diving guide](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/blog/egypt-red-sea-diving-guide) and the [comparison of Sharm, Hurghada and Dahab](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/blog/sharm-vs-hurghada-vs-dahab) help if you are still choosing the town. For everything we run in Sharm, see the [Sharm El Sheikh destination page](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/destinations/sharm-el-sheikh).

![An excursion boat with passengers](https://pn1r2qcgp1mamesq.public.blob.vercel-storage.com/trip-images/Excursion_boat_with_passengers_a%E2%80%A6_2K_20261003131601-EmPiPCXJQsxZmwLAJSilOXrISubLlH.jpg)
*An excursion boat with passengers.*

## What should you check before booking either trip?

1. Ask for the exact pickup time. The pages say it is confirmed after booking or the day before.
2. If a child is 10 or 11 and wants the intro dive, check the minimum age against that trip. If anyone in your group cannot swim, tell the guide before entering the water.
3. Check the official travel advice for Egypt before you go. The UK Foreign Office page, last updated on August 4, 2026 when we read it, advises against all but essential travel to the northern part of the South Sinai Governorate beyond the St Catherine-Nuweibaa road, except for the coastal areas along the west and east of the peninsula. The page does not name Sharm El Sheikh. It can change, so read [the FCDO page](https://www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/egypt) yourself before you travel.

## Frequently asked questions

### Is Ras Mohammed or Tiran better for snorkeling?

Neither is better on the evidence we found. Ras Mohammed has published coral-cover monitoring and a half-day option. Tiran is a full-day trip across reefs in a channel where our guide describes shifting currents at some reefs. No source we opened compares the two. Choose by day length, comfort in open water and the stops you want.

### Which is better for beginners and children?

The Tiran page says its trip suits a beginner or an experienced swimmer, and the Ras Mohammed pages state no swimming requirement. A guide is in the water on all three, and a life jacket is recommended if you are not a confident swimmer. The Ras Mohammed half-day gets you back about an hour earlier, which may suit young children.

### Do I need to be able to swim?

No, but only with a flotation vest and a guide, as our snorkel-safety post explains. Tell the guide that you cannot swim before you enter the water. The trip pages also recommend a life jacket for anyone who is not a confident swimmer.

### Which month suits each trip?

Sea temperature in Sharm El Sheikh ranges from about 72 to 85 °F (22 to 29 °C) across the year in the compilations we used; we found no separate figures for each site. We found no official sea-state record by month, so check the forecast the week of your trip and allow a spare day.

### Is the Ras Mohammed park fee included?

On our Ras Mohammed half-day and full-day pages, the national park entrance fee is included, and the Tiran page lists entrance fees as included. Gratuities, snorkel gear and underwater photos are not. Checked October 23, 2026; re-read the trip page when you book.

### Can weather cancel the trip?

Yes, weather can stop boats. Our cancellation policy says that if Sunny Egypt has to cancel a trip, for example for severe weather, the guest gets a full refund or a free reschedule. If you cancel yourself, the trip pages offer free cancellation up to 3 days before the trip.

## Sources

- [IUCN: Ras Mohammed National Park, Green List certification (December 3, 2018)](https://www.iucn.org/news/protected-areas/201812/ras-mohammed-national-park-egypts-underwater-paradise-among-best-protected-marine-reserves-planet) — accessed 2026-10-23
- [Global Environment Facility: Ras Mohammed Nature Reserve, Egypt (November 7, 2022)](https://www.thegef.org/newsroom/feature-stories/good-news-egypts-oldest-national-park) — accessed 2026-10-23
- [UK Foreign Office: Egypt travel advice](https://www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/egypt) — accessed 2026-10-23
- [Egypt Independent: Environment Ministry safety instructions for vacationers (May 10, 2025)](https://egyptindependent.com/egypt-issues-strict-warnings-and-instructions-to-protect-vacationers-from-shark-attacks/) — accessed 2026-10-23
- [Egypt Independent: port closures and diving suspensions (March 29, 2018)](https://www.egyptindependent.com/?p=2518992) — accessed 2026-10-23
- [Wikipedia: Ras Muhammad National Park](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ras_Muhammad_National_Park) — accessed 2026-10-23
- [Wikipedia: Tiran Island](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiran_Island) — accessed 2026-10-23
- [Wikipedia: Sharm El Sheikh (climate table)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sharm_El_Sheikh) — accessed 2026-10-23
- [seatemperatu.re: Sharm El Sheikh sea temperature by month](https://www.seatemperatu.re/middle-east/egypt/sharm-el-sheikh/when.html) — accessed 2026-10-23
- [Sunny Egypt Travels: cancellation policy](https://www.sunnyegypttravels.com/en/cancellation-policy) — accessed 2026-10-23
- PADI: published minimum age (10) and maximum depth (40 feet, 12 meters) for Discover Scuba Diving, accessed 2026-10-23
- SSI: guidance that flotation vests are accepted practice for less confident snorkelers, accessed 2026-10-23
